Welcome to our store!

m menu image  m home m cart

Southern Meets Soul: An American Gospel Jubilee

by Various Artists


Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Tuesday 24 January, 2006.


Southern Meets Soul is a jubilee of roots/Americana music in the style of southern and country gospel. It's an exciting new sound but not a brand new trip for The Jordanaires, The Light Crust Doughboys, Nokie Edwards and Larry "T-Byrd" Gordon, since these innovative artists have been cross-pollinating the very best in roots music for decades.

You've never heard these virtuoso musicians sing and play wiht more fire and creativity as they bring their famous sound from thousands of recordings and stage performances to this soul-filled album which features rare, duet performances by the late Gordon Stoker of The Jordanaires and Texas R&B Soul man, Larry "T-Byrd" Gordon.

This album masterwork was Grammy Award-Nominated for Best Album in a Gospel category. The Jordanaires are perhaps best known as Elvis Presley's vocal band on so many hit records of the 1950s, 60s and 70s. The Light Crust Doughboys are kings of western swing and the longest-lived country band in history. Nokie Edwards as The Ventures' most famous golden age lead guitarist launched a million guitarists and guitar bands.

Southern Meets Soul was produced and arranged by Grammy Award winnner, 8-Time Grammy Award Nominee & record producer to Engelbert Humperdinck, Ann-Margret, The Ventures, Trini Lopez & more. Southern Meets Soul is the story of influential singers and instrumentalists searching for higher, more fertile ground in a world that's not their final home.

Track List

  1. Overture and Jubilee Fanfare
  2. Samson and Delilah
  3. Eyes on the Prize
  4. Church in the Wildwood
  5. Wayfaring Stranger
  6. Dare to Be Brave
  7. Precious Memories
  8. Blessed Are You
  9. O Mighty God
  10. Take Care of My Mother
  11. Keep Looking Up
  12. House of the Risen Son
  13. Eyes on the Prize (Reprise)


  • Artist: Various Artists
  • Title: Southern Meets Soul: An American Gospel Jubilee
  • Explicit Lyrics: No
  • Format: CD
  • Record Company: Art Greenhaw
  • Music Genre: Southern Gospel
  • Date Added: 01/24/2006
  • Street Date: 03/04/2014
  • Catalog #: AGR2030
  • UPC: 663525703025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25lbs
  • Dimensions: 4.92in 5.59in 0.39in
  • 1 Units in Stock
  • Box Lot Quantity: 30

Current Reviews: 1

Copyright © 2018 Select-O-Hits Store.